• CCC Phi Theta Kappa Spring Induction

    • Share:
    March 14, 2019
    Clinton Community College hosted the Induction Ceremony of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society on Tuesday, March 5, 2019.   Fifty four members were inducted into the CCC Alpha Theta Beta Chapter.  Students are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa if they have achieved a 3.5 grade point and earned 12 credit hours.   
    Phi Theta Kappa chapter co-president Maria Nichols and co-vice president Anna Kohl served as emcees for the Induction Ceremony.  Clinton Community College Academic Advisor/ Disability Resource Provider/ Retention Specialist Marcia Larson spoke about on the PTK topic of the year – Food Insecurity.  Marcia shared information about local students with food insecurity, and shared the idea and development of the CCC Cupboard which offers free food, toiletries, diapers, cleaning supplies, and bus passes to students.  The CCC Cupboard receives donations from staff and faculty, students and community members.
    The CCC Alpha Theta Beta Chapter is a 5-star chapter signifying a high level of involvement by students.  This includes an on-campus project. During the year, the Alpha Theta Beta Chapter has completed several projects including collecting Alumni memories, a little lending library, sending more than 1,000 holiday cards to our military troops, and handing out stress relief bags to students and faculty during finals, upkeep with the pollinator garden, and pizza & bake sales.  The chapter is also a REACH chapter, a designation for the high number of eligible students joining the organization.
    Clinton Community College students Anna Kohl of Grand Mound, IA, Autumn Tharp of Clinton, IA, and Michael Bloomquist of Fulton, IL were recognized as All-Iowa Academic Team Members at the annual Iowa banquet. The students were nominated by CCC faculty and were recognized for their leadership in the classroom, on campus and in the community. 
    CCC Assistant to the President - Administration Karen Lueders was awarded the Distinguished College Administrator Award by Phi Theta Kappa International, an award recognizing just 25 college administrators who have given outstanding efforts to promote the goals of Phi Theta Kappa.  Lueders has focused on support for Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society through:
    • Participation in Phi Theta Kappa Inductions,
    • Assistance to students and advisors attending PTK events and conferences,
    • Support of the Phi Theta Kappa projects such as the pollinator garden, the little lending library, cards and supplies to the troops, and fundraisers, and
    • Support of efforts for Phi Theta Kappa Alpha Theta Beta Chapter to achieve 5-star status.
    Retired CCC Instructor and Phi Theta Kappa Advisor Jane Marlowe and Distinguished College Administrator honoree Karen Lueders were named honorary Phi Theta Kappa members for their service to the CCC chapter.  Both were included in the induction ceremony. 
    Dr. Karen Vickers commented, “It is always wonderful to recognize the success of our students.  Our PTK induction allows us to celebrate our students who are doing well in and out of the classroom.  These students have earned their PTK membership through commitment to their studies.  We are so proud of their accomplishments.  This induction was especially special because in addition to recognizing the work of our students, we also recognized a campus project that has served students well, presented two people who have contributed so much to PTK with honorary memberships, and recognized Karen Lueders for her Distinguished College Administrator Award from PTK.”
    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.
    Clinton Community College students inducted into Phi Theta Kappa include:
    Baldwin, IA
         Sidney T. Michel
    Bellevue, IA
         Toby J. Giesemann
    Calamus, IA
         Carter R. Dwyer
    Camanche, IA
         Natalie W. Goble
         Jaiden A. Goodman
         Seanna M. Lamberton
         Chloe E. Vogel
         Kendall E. Wright
    Clinton, IA
         Julee A. Baker
         Luke D. Boyd
         MacKenzie A. Cady
         Colin Donnelly
         Shania M. Edens
         Leo H. Ernst
         Kaitlyn M. Evers
         Emma R. Ferguson
         Karlee R. Griswold
         Morgan L. Hines
         Joseph H. Housenga
         Eric M. Kershner
         Rachel R. Logan
         Derek D. Montague
         Tyler J. Mulholland
         Luana R. Rozante
         Sarah J. Simonson
         Matthew A. Stewart
         Conner P. Williams
    Delmar, IA
         Ian C. Stetzel
    DeWitt, IA
         Megan M. David
         Brianna M. Denton
         Isabelle H. Hawkins
         Taylor J. Zeimet
    Maquoketa, IA
         Aldin B. Banghart
         Brianna K. Banowetz
         Nicholas E. Ehlinger
         Aziz Eshtrefi
         Jocelyn A. Martin
         Abraham J. Michel
         Cassandra J. Ruppert
         Chloe Swanson
         Rachel L. Vorbeck
         Genny L. Wallace
    Sabula, IA
         Sadie A. Zaruba
    Spragueville, IA
         Katie G. Foster
    Wheatland, IA
         Serina L. Carpenter
    Albany, IL
         Baylee S. Gooch
    Fulton, IL
         Caitelynne K. Brashaw
         Samantha E. Carpenter
         Terra Easley
         Pierre B. Mure-Ravaud
         Shannon M. Sherman
    Morrison, IL
         Lisette Lehman
    Savanna, IL
         Gitselle Rodriguez Olvera
    Thomson, IL
         Shaelynn M. Williams
    Ann Eisenman, Foundation Director
    (563) 244-7040