CCC Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Induction

  • Share:
March 23, 2021
The Clinton Community College Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society hosted a virtual induction ceremony Tuesday, March 9, 2021.   Forty four members were inducted into the CCC Alpha Theta Beta Chapter.  Students are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa if they have achieved a 3.5 grade point and earned 12 credit hours.   
Phi Theta Kappa chapter officers Emma Zimmerman, Treasurer, and Payton Cernek, Secretary, served as the Masters of Ceremony.  Clinton Community College President Brian Kelly welcomed the attendees sharing congratulations to the students who have earned the opportunity to join Phi Theta Kappa.  CCC Instructor and Medical Assistant Campus Coordinator Amy Hartog spoke to the group on the PTK topic of the year, To the Seventh Generation; Inheritance & Legacy.  Hartog, a Guided Meditation Facilitator and instructor in yoga, pilates and aerobics, shared her knowledge of the topic and encouraged the students to focus on good health and to relax through physical exercise and meditation.
The Alpha Theta Beta Chapter Advisors are CCC Instructors Gina Bielski and Shirley Turnis, and Academic Advisor & Career Services Coordinator Rob Schadt.  The trio commented, "These students have worked hard to earn the opportunity to join Phi Theta Kappa. We are proud of each and every one of them!"  CCC President Brian Kelly agreed with the advisors and added praise for them stating, "Clinton Community College has a very strong PTK chapter, led by passionate leader/educators. We are excited to welcome a new cohort of hard-working students to continue our tradition of academic excellence."
The CCC chapter has earned 5-start status signifying a high level of involvement by students.  This includes an on-campus project. During the year, the Alpha Theta Beta Chapter has completed several projects including collecting Alumni memories, a little lending library, sending more than 1,000 holiday cards to our military troops, and handing out stress relief bags to students and faculty during finals, upkeep with the pollinator garden, and pizza & bake sales.  The chapter is also a REACH chapter, a designation for the high number of eligible students joining the organization.
Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,200 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, and Japan.  Scholarships totaling more than $36 million are offered annually to Phi Theta Kappa students.  Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.
Clinton Community College students Fall 2020 Inductees into Phi Theta Kappa include:
Baldwin, IA
     Megan Carbonelli
Calamus, IA
     Alison Edens
     Lauren Von Muenster
Camanche, IA
     Courtland Filgo
     Ashton Haskell
Clinton, IA
     Keira Fullick
     Adriana Gonzalez
     Danielle Malone
     Shania Mussmann
     Tessa Anne Telford
     Brian Witherspoon
De Witt, IA
     Payton Cernek
     Jaide Kueter
     Jared Payne
     Samantha Puck
Maquoketa, IA
     Kyler Beidler
     Amber Humphrey
Miles, IA
     Evan Hansen
     Coby Johnson
     Cora Leonard
Preston, IA
     Nicole Zeimet
Wheatland, IA
     Kaylie Wilhelm
Colona, IL
     Caitlyn Rasso
Fulton, IL
     Grace Daley
     Deidre Smith
Morrison, IL
     Michael Melton
Savanna, IL
     Zoe Schork
Clinton Community College students Spring 2021 Inductees into Phi Theta Kappa include:
Bellevue, IA
     Macy Heim
Bryant, IA
     Melissa Holdgrafer
Camanche, IA
     Rubie Blinkinsop
     Emily Gregorich
     Kamilla Jacobo
Clinton, IA
     Jena Austin
     Paige Bauer
     Kristy Peska
De Witt, IA
     Isaac Frett
Goose Lake, IA
     Madison Martens
Maquoketa, IA
     Gracie Blair
     Peter Carlson
     Jenna Wiebenga
Sabula, IA
     Meyer Evan
Albany, IL
     Ashley Maze
Fulton, IL
     Adelie Mure-Ravaud
     Trae Van Zuiden

Ann Eisenman, Foundation Director, (563) 244-7040